camden market

I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of the street markets here.  The Camden itself area has a ton of different stands, shops, and sellers set up along the street; very Fordham Road-y.  Recommended by the fabulous Lexi Rizzo, the Camden Market specifically is the coolest!!!  There were so many different booths selling jewelry, clothes, home decor, souvenirs, bags, sunglasses, and pretty much anything you’d go to a market to buy.  Somehow I resisted spending but my real plan was to scope it all out and go back for my favorites later.

The Camden Market also has a ton of different food stands.  I feel like British food often gets a bad rap and the only people really associate with traditional English food is fish and chips.  Now I know I’ll be learning a lot more about all of this in my Food and Globalization class, but just from walking through the markets it’s clear that British food is way more diverse than many often assume.  Italian, Thai, Indian, Jamaican, Chinese, Vietnamese, and even some recognizable American dishes line the paths in the food section of the market.  So many different cultures represented on the streets and in the food being served all around.  It’s so cool to see so many different kinds of people sharing the same market space.

After walking for a couple hours through the store and food lined streets, we explored the outskirts and found some pretty colorful houses and graffiti.  Just as we decided it was time to call it a day and head back to the tube, it started to really rain.  We’ve been so lucky with the weather so far and this was not an exception.  We got into the station relatively dry and hopped right on the train to head back.

Leave a comment