hyde park

So, since my last class of the week ends at 4pm on Wednesdays, when I refer to the weekend I usually mean anywhere from Wednesday night through Sunday.  Four day weekends are a glorious thing and I’m not sure how I’m going to handle being back in the Bronx with only Saturday and Sunday to chill and have nothing to do.  Only time will tell…

Anyways, I’m still recovering from the cold that camping in the freezing rain left me with so I’ve been taking it a little easy.  Yesterday most of the day was spent exploring Hyde Park.  The park is absolutely huge, not as big as central park but does anything compare?  Well, Hyde Park comes close.  It was the most beautiful day and everyone was outside.  Although we wanted to take advantage of the boat rentals, the 10 pound price tag per person wasn’t in the budget so instead we walked around, took some pictures, and tried to get out pasty skin to absorb some of the precious sunlight.

After walking for a while, we went to sit in the (what we thought were) free recliner chairs they had set up.  Unfortunately, after about 3 minutes, a kind man came over to inform us that the chairs were for rent, 1.80 pounds per half hour.  Unlike everyone else at the park that simply handed of the coins (we call them dolla pounds), we quickly exited and plopped down in the grass.  The chairs were nice but again, we are on a strict budget.

Only down side about Hyde Park is the wildlife.  Now I’m all about animals but this was like a scene from the movie Birds, which I have never seen but I can only imagine in my nightmares.  People insist on feeding the swans, ducks, geese, and pigeons until they surround and harass every passerby.  Seriously gross and scary.  Thankfully we survived the traumatic experience but I may wait to go back until the migration period begins.

Leave a comment