electric ballroom

We saw Grouplove live!!!!

Little background/ quick facts to the band:

  • they were featured on The Fault in Our Stars soundtrack
  • Tongue Tied was their big hit- like 4 years ago, constantly in the radio
  • in 2013 they headlined Fordham’s Spring Weekend Concert- sad I wasn’t a student then :/

Anyway, late last week my roommates had heard from a friend that the band was going to be performing only 45 min away.  I really only knew of them from a sophomore year track playlist that we constantly played on repeat, and the movie soundtrack, but I had heard some of their other stuff and really liked it.  I quickly looked up the tickets and saw they were only 10 pounds, obviously I was in.

Me, Mad, and Kathryn showed up to the venue a couple minutes before doors opened and were greeted by a very 21 pilots crowd.  Youngish with lots of hair colors, piercings, and tattoos spread amongst them.  After seeing 21 pilots and Matt and Kim, I was prepared for this type of audience and for the most part everyone behaved (except the one couple next to us, just use your imagination for that one).  Once we got in to the extremely small venue, and met up with Kristen and her friend Helena, we learned that Grouplove wouldn’t start for another 2+ hours.  The opening bands were a really an interesting mix of folk music and scream-o but it was awesome to see people that are all about music just doing what they love.

The time passed pretty fast and before we knew it Grouplove was absolutely killing it on stage.  They were totally insane but it was AWESOME!  Their songs are all so catchy and they were so happy to be there, it was seriously so cool.  I can totally see how they performed at Fordham, it also made me beyond excited for Spring Weekend, aka the best weekend of the year.  Sadly, this free website doesn’t allow for video uploads but if anyone’s super interested I can send them 🙂

Leave a comment